The Law of Forced Preparation

 

The Law of the _____ (3)

There are 2 groups of people: (1) those who work well under pressure and (2) those who do not. I happen to fall in the first group. I am a person that must set deadlines and have someone hold me accountable in order for me to get things done. If I do not have a deadline (which is pressure to me) then I can allow procrastination to set in!! So essentially, if I want to get things done I have to force myself to.

So that brings us to The Law of “Forced Preparation”

force

 God is the alpha and omega, the beginning and the end, the author and finisher of our faith…which also suggests that God finishes what He starts…and so should we (Phil 1:6 -“Being confident of this very thing, that He who has begun a good work in you will complete it until the day of Jesus Christ”).

 The Law of Forced Preparation essentially  teaches us that it is good practice to finish what we start AND in order to do so there may be times when we need to hold ourselves accountable by sharing the visions God has given us so that it “FORCES” us to see it to the very end.

Biblical References: Noah and the Ark (Genesis 6), Elijah telling Ahab to hurry before the rain (I Kings 18), Peter getting out of jail (Acts 12), and more.

APPLICATION:

  • Professional Life-Think about 1 professional project that you have been “working on”, “fixin’ to do”, “about to get to” for a very long time now. Ask yourself these following questions: (1) Why haven’t I finished the project? (2) What do I need to finish the project? (3) Who do I need to help me finish the project? (4) Is there a spirit of perfectionism/procrastination/doubt/worry/fear of rejection/fear of criticism etc that must be addressed prior to starting up again? (5) Why should I complete this project? (6) When will I complete this project? (7) Who should I ask to hold me accountable?……It is very important to also ask yourself “WHO’S BLESSING/NEXT STEP AM I HOLDING UP BY NOT COMPLETING WHAT I WAS ASKED TO DO?”…….Maybe your boss asked you to do something or maybe God told you to start a business or write a book that you just haven’t quite finished  (or even started). If you are feeling stuck….then MOVE or ask someone to help you with a little extra push!!
  • Personal Life-Think about 1 personal goal that you have been “working on”, “fixin’ to do”, “about to get to” for a very long time now. Ask yourself these following questions: (1) Why haven’t I reached my goal? (2) What do I need to reach the goal? (3) Who do I need to help me reach the goal? (4) Is there a spirit of perfectionism/procrastination/doubt/worry/fear rejection/fear of criticism etc that must be addressed prior to reaching the goal? (5)What is the importance of completing this goal? (6) When will I reach this goal? (7) Who should I ask to hold me accountable?……It is very important to also ask yourself “WHO’S BLESSING/NEXT STEP AM I HOLDING UP BY NOT REACHING MY GOAL?”…….We are to be witnesses in every area of our lives and when you set goals and reach them…people take notice. Have you set a personal goal to lose weight, get married, have a child, become financially secure, buy a new home/car, etc…? Assuming that God has already done His part (which He has) and taking into consideration God’s timing…if the delay in reaching your goal is only you…then what do you plan on doing about YOURSELF?
  • Relational Life-Think about 1 relational need that you recognize as an area of growth . Ask yourself these following questions: (1) Why haven’t I began growing in this area? (2) What do I need to grown? (3) Who do I need to help me grow? (4) Is there a spirit of perfectionism/procrastination/doubt/worry/fear rejection/fear of criticism etc that could be hindering growth? (5) What is the importance of growing in this area? (6) Growing is continual but when do I plan on crossing the next “mile marker” of growth? (7) Who should I ask to hold me accountable?……It is very important to also ask yourself “WHO’S BLESSING/NEXT STEP AM I HOLDING UP BY NOT GROWING IN THIS AREA?”…….Maybe your goal is to start dating again, or to get married, or to build a better relationship with your spouse/family member. Relationships consist of the relationship with yourself and the one you have with others. In this area…maybe you will focus on how you can become a better you for your loved ones or maybe you and your loved one will create a goal together (e.g. better communication or conflict resolution).

…………………………………………..

The Law of the “_____” are everyday revelations and teachings taken from everyday situations & experiences. God is always speaking & teaching but it is up to us to seek & listen.

“He who has an ear…let him hear!” – Matthew 11:15

I would love to hear from you!

