Why Settle?

IMAG3439_1

God can give you revelation anywhere and in any situation. So while I am in the line at Starbucks retrieving my FREE birthday drink He gave me one about settling. So here is how it all happened.

I pull to the drive through and she asks me what I want. I first tell her that I have the free birthday coupon and she goes on to say “ok, sure you can have anything you want.” So me being in my normal mindset I asked for a Grande Caramel Frappuccino because that is what I always get. She then asks if I want anything else and I say no. But then her words of “you can have anything you want” rung in my head and I said to myself “wait she said anything so why did I just order a medium!”

Before she gives me a total I say, “wait, so the size doesn’t matter?” and she said, “no, would you like a Venti (large)?” and I say “YES!” lol

At first I was a little hesitant to ask for the Venti because it just seemed greedy plus I never get one so I didn’t think I could drink it all!

And the revelation hit me! That is how so many of us have done and continue to do even in our own lives! God CLEARLY has said that you can have ANYTHING that you want (of course it being in alignment with His word). He says in John 14:13-14 And WHATEVER you ask in My name, that I will do, that the Father may be glorified in the Son. 14 If you ask anything in My name, I will do it.”

[Now don’t get crazy thinking you can have WHATEVER and start asking for someone’s house, or car, or their spouse….don’t be asinine now!]

If God says that we can have whatever we want that will glorify the Father then why do we still order the smaller drink in life? If we can have something so much greater and bigger why do we stick with what we are most comfortable with worrying about if we can handle it or what others will think if we got it?

If He says it’s mine…I want it! If He says I can handle it….then I’ma carry the weight! If He says I can ask for whatever…then I’m requesting! If He says I can receive it…then my arms are wide open to catch it!

Notice the woman didn’t say, “yes you can get any size…would you like the Tall (small) instead)? No, you know why? Because that would have been defeating the purpose! If ANYTHING is FREE if I ask for it then why would I DOWNSIZE instead of SUPERSIZE?!

That’s what some of you have done. God has said BEYOND the sky is your limit yet we tell Him, “no I’m good I will stick with what I got….as a matter of fact…give me less!”

You may not verbally say this but your attitude, your behaviors, and your dialogues sure do say it! Remember that actions speak louder than words!

You tell Him this when you stay on a job that He clearly has told you is not where you need to be because He has better. You tell Him this when you stay with that “boo” because he/she will numb the loneliness but He clearly told you to let it go. You tell Him this when He tells you to go back to school, or go house/car searching, or give your tithe and offering but you don’t because you don’t have “enough money” to do all of that! You tell Him that when you do not move when He says move!

Don’t tell God you want less…more is available to you today…if you ASK! Come boldly to His thrown of Grace and make your petitions known unto God! Don’t be scared or embarrassed to ask! He’s a big God so trust He can handle any of your requests!

You wouldn’t tell your spouse “you know honey, you don’t have to spend as much time with me. Less is better” or you wouldn’t tell your kids, “you know Johnny you don’t have to make A’s…your C’s are just fine with me.”

We must learn to OPEN our mouths and SPEAK! A closed mouth never got fed! If you want a better job or to be an entrepreneur then ASK. If you want to own your own home or car then ASK. If you want a  man or woman of God that loves God more than you and treats you like the jewel you are worth then ASK!

If something comes along that is less than what you asked for then tell it to keep-a-moving! Now of course we do not despise the days of small beginnings either (Zechariah 4:10) (but that’s a whole ‘nother story for another blog 😉

Nevertheless Do Not Settle! Why? It just sounds absurd?

 

I would love to hear from you!

