What This Year’s College Football Season Taught Me About God’s Timing

florida state

I am a pretty huge football fan and this year has especially made me excited about the game with all of the great victories. As we wrapped up the final college game of the year last night with the Rose Bowl I have to say that I have learned a very significant lesson and that is “It is not over until the clock strikes ZERO!”

Now I already knew this about football but there are 3 games in particular that I really understand the value of every second. That is the Auburn vs Alabama, Mizzou vs. Oklahoma State, and Florida State vs Auburn games (I am sure there are more but these are the ones I watched).

The first two games I watched until the very end and the last game I turned off in the middle of the fourth quarter. The reason I turned the Florida State game off is because Auburn was leading by about 10 or so points and Florida wasn’t doing that great so I just figured Auburn would win.

As I was turning off the TV I heard God say “it still isn’t over.” It is funny how even God likes to watch football 😉 But even beyond that how He can use our everyday activities to teach us lessons.

I am sure if you watched the Alabama vs Auburn game you were 100% certain that Alabama was the winner BUT if you watched until the very last SECOND you would have seen Auburn take the game with a beautiful return by Chris Davis due to a missed field goal by Alabama.

auburn

Then while watching the Mizzou game I was hoping and praying for a victory (because I am an alumni of course). But I have to tell ya, we were minutes away from losing and I was ABOUT to bite my nails but I just knew deep down that we would win ;-). And sure enough, we DID! Oklahoma State fumbled, we recovered, we scored, and we won!!!

mizzou

 I did not see how the Florida State game ended because, like I said, I turned it off early assuming Auburn had already won. BUT to my surprise I turned my TV back on maybe an hour later to find that the opposite was true!

Each of these games were close calls where one team was expected to win but the other won instead and it all boiled down to MINUTES and even SECONDS literally!

What we can learn from this is to STOP giving up so quickly and to WAIT it out and to PERSEVERE with ALL of our might until God says that we can REST!

Many of us miss our blessings because we GIVE UP too soon because we base our ability to win on what we see on the scoreboard of our life!

I am here to tell ya…even if the clock says ONE SECOND you STILL have time! Why? Because it is NOT over until God puts the PERIOD! And if God says you are a winner guess what? YOU ARE A WINNER!

Stay encouraged, stay in the race, and DON’T give up!!!

Brethren, I count not myself to have apprehended: but this one thing I do, forgetting those things which are behind, and reaching forth unto those things which are before, I press toward the mark for the prize of the high calling of God in Christ Jesus.

Philippians 3:13-14

I would love to hear from you!

