Feeling Like That Bible Guy Named Moses

gifted-by-God3

I am just getting home from my second dance class. If you recall from this blog here titled Insecurely Gifted I decided to start taking dance more seriously because God had been speaking to me and to others letting me know that I needed to dance. My first class was ballet and today I went to the hip-hip class.

I love hip-hop so I got in there at first very confident. I went to the intermediate/advanced class because I was sure I could keep up…LOL uh yea no that did not happen. Well I could do it slow but when we did it on tempo they totally lost me half of the time.

Those girls were killing it in there and all I could think of was how embarrassing this was and how I am not even sure I would want to come back. I then began to talk to God and was asking if He was for SURE SURE that He meant He wanted me to literally dance lol!

Sometimes He speaks symbolically so I just was trying to clarify what exactly He meant by “dance”…I mean I can dance for Him all day privately but the dance He is talking about is PUBLICLY!

So, as I am contemplating if He picked the right person for the job I thought of Moses and this bible passage below:

“Moses said to the Lord, “Pardon your servant, Lord. I have never been eloquent, neither in the past nor since you have spoken to your servant. I am slow of speech and tongue.”

11 The Lord said to him, “Who gave human beings their mouths? Who makes them deaf or mute? Who gives them sight or makes them blind? Is it not I, the Lord? 12 Now go; I will help you speak and will teach you what to say.”

13 But Moses said, “Pardon your servant, Lord. Please send someone else.”

14 Then the Lord’s anger burned against Moses and he said, “What about your brother, Aaron the Levite? I know he can speak well. He is already on his way to meet you, and he will be glad to see you.15 You shall speak to him and put words in his mouth; I will help both of you speak and will teach you what to do. 16 He will speak to the people for you, and it will be as if he were your mouth and as if you were God to him.”

Exodus 4:10-16 (NIV)

…………………………………………

This version (NIV) is funny to me because I can just picture Moses holding up his hand and timidly saying, “uh now Lord…you sure you want me to…I mean you know I can’t talk real good!” (LOL moment of humor) 

Now I can dance don’t get me wrong but the level that He is talking about has me still scratching my head!

When God calls someone it is not about our abilities, our skills, and not even our confidence at times. If He has told you that you are going to be and do something then you can best believe that He will have you in training and will equip you for the job.

Now I could do like Moses and ask to have someone dance for me lol…but not quite sure how that’ll work lol…unless I teach choreography but still I would need to know how to teach it…so that won’t work…plus I don’t want to make Him angry! No sir!

…………………………………………….

While dancing I was thinking, “If this is supposed to be a gift that You want me to do then why am I just not picking up on the choreography as fast and why didn’t I just come out the womb doing the Michael Jackson moonwalk?!”

Then I felt Him say, “nobody said it would be easy.”

I think that is a message for everyone. Many times when God calls us to do something it is not easy and it is not comfortable and 99.999% rounded to 100% of the time we do not even know how to do what He tells us to do!

Now there is reason for this…I feel that it is to keep us humble and seeking after Him. Just imagine…if you could do it without His help then you may get to a point where you stop consulting Him for help! I once heard somebody say that if you could do it all on your own then it was a good idea not a God idea.

We are most effective when we are 100% dependent on Him.

Am I going to quit? That doesn’t sound like a bad idea especially after that embarrassment but NOPE I still will not quit!

I will just have to deal with the embarrassment as I work hard at getting better and soon…very soon I will be Dancing with the Stars 😉 And I mean that literally!

Keep pressing on! It won’t be easy but that doesn’t mean give up or start whining! Keep the fight and He will teach you all that you need to know and do!

#HappyGiftWorking

I would love to hear from you!

