I Am Glad My Plans Failed

IMAG2092_1

“A man’s heart plans his way, but the Lord directs his steps.”

Proverbs 16:9

Raise your hand if you had a plan all figured out but God had something else in mind? Well, by the show of hands everyone has had this happen to them and this is no surprise to me.

I was thinking recently about one particular plan that I had. Yes ladies, it was one of those “I will be married by this age” type of plans. I was about 19 I believe and my whole plan was to marry by the age of 21 (or 22 I was flexible) and start having children by the age of 24 or 25. I am 25 years of age currently and single with no children. My plan was not in God’s plan.

As I look at my life now I am beyond grateful that God didn’t allow my plans to override His!! Let’s just think for a moment! If I had married and started having children according to my timing then I wouldn’t be able to be crowned Miss Tennessee USA 2014 (Pageant will be held October 4-5, 2013 so come out and support ;-)). Why wouldn’t I be able to be crowned? Because the requirements are: (1) you must not be married and (2) you must not have children.

My plans would have ruined my opportunity of a life time! So, with all of this being said I am SOOO HAPPY that my plans failed and God’s PREVAILED!!

Being single has its moments but I can honestly sit here and say that this single season is by far the best I have had! Yes, I enjoy sitting home on Friday and Saturday nights watching Family Feud alone lol.

“There isa difference between a wife and a virgin. The unmarried woman cares about the things of the Lord, that she may be holy both in body and in spirit. But she who is married cares about the things of the world—how she may please her husband. 35 And this I say for your own profit, not that I may put a leash on you, but for what is proper, and that you may serve the Lord without distraction.”

I Corinthians 7:34-35

When you first read this scripture it makes you feel that you should remain single forever. However, I think this scripture allows us to see how when you are single you have so much time, energy, and the ability to focus solely on God with minimal distractions BUT once you are married your focus begins to shift to your family. Both are a gift and we should be grateful.

If we rush through our stages in life and if we get to a point where we choose our will versus God’s then we are truly not living.

God knows what He is doing so if He does not or has not yet allowed something to happen then I am quite certain that He has His reasons for it. It is just our duties to trust in Him and to go with His flow!

His plans are so much better than ours!

Let’s Think:

What plans have you had that God altered and you are glad about it now that you look back?

How can you learn to better appreciate God’s will even if at the moment it is not what you may want?

2 thoughts on “I Am Glad My Plans Failed

  1. Love this!! (And was so close to write the same exact post!) I am beyond grateful for the things that didn’t work out in my life the way that I wanted them to (even the whole still being single part) 😉 I know God’s plan is so much better then my own and I’m constantly learning to surrender my own ideas and ambitions into His hands and letting Him have control. Thank you for posting this. Be blessed!

  2. Anna, haha that is cool! We can all be so different but so alike at the same time! You are right indeed; His plans are far greater! If we could only wrap our heads around that.

I would love to hear from you!

