Green Smoothie Lesson

2013-07-23 11.54.56

I have been hearing so much about green smoothies but I have never tried one, until this morning.  One of the main reasons that I was reluctant to try it was because of how it looked. I know you are not supposed to judge a book by its cover but I do especially when it comes to food.

I finally caved in after talking to some friends about how it actually tastes.  Consensus say that you really do not taste the vegetables but only the fruit that you put in it. So I caved in because I wanted to see what all of the hype was about. Yesterday I went shopping to get all of the ingredients and I made one this morning.How was it you ask? It was fantastic! I was wrong for judging it by its appearance because it certainly does not taste the way it looks.

Of course I take lessons from everything that I do so a lesson that I learned from this is very similar to what God tries to teach us.The lesson is this. Our value is not in our outward appearance but it is in what we have on the inside of us. I blogged about inner beauty here so this was just a confirmation for me. This smoothie really brought this to life for me because boy is it ugly on the outside but the contents of everything that is inside of it are so beautiful and healthy.

Many times, I am guilty, we try to dress up and do things to assure ourselves that others will receive us. That’s a bad habit to have. The  people that need to be in your lives are those that will take the time to sit down and talk with you to see what the real you is made of rather than only judging by the act and façade you put on.

Real friends are ones that will look past your ugly and see all the great inside of you 😉 Do you have any “spiritual green smoothie” tasting people around you? You will need them!

……………………………….

I am no dietician but it appears to be healthy for you. I have read pros and cons about green smoothies but in moderation I personally do not see anything wrong with it. Hey, they taste good, are easy & quick to make, and they include the nutrients you need in your daily diet consumption (depending on your ingredients).

Here is how I decided to make mine after Internet searching:

Ingredients:

  • 3 cups of spinach
  • ½  head of romaine lettuce
  • 2 celery sticks
  • 1 ½ green apple ( I ate the other half before mixing lol)
  • 1 cup blueberries
  • 1 banana
  • ½ lemon juice

 IMAG1860_1

How to:

  • Add 1 cup of water to blender
  • Blend the green vege’s until smooth
  • Add the apples and blend until smooth
  • Add the bananas and blueberries and blend
  • Squeeze the ½ lemon and blend
  • Pour and enjoy 😉

 

Tools needed:

  • A smoothie blender (I tried a regular ole blender for daiquiris and such but it didn’t work…here is the one I bought from Walmart for $19.99…they have plenty others for a higher price but this works just fine for me) 

IMAG1864_1

I would love to hear from you!

