Holy Spirit Teaching 101: A Lesson I Have Learned

IMAG1225_1

There are a plethora of things that the Holy Spirit has taught me throughout my life. He has taught me through experience, through dreams/visions, through others, and simply by giving me insight/revelation/wisdom directly.  It wasn’t until recently that I actually began to truly tune into my internal guider but I am so glad that I have (read more about this internal guider in my new book coming soon 😉 ).

Just recently He taught me a valuable lesson (as they all are) but I wanted to share this one in particular.  I was recently going through a business transaction and the first opportunity looked sweet!! It was a wide open door and the provision was there. It seemed like a steal! Plus the door was open so I figured it must have come from God. But I wasn’t fully at peace with it…I could have easily agreed to the wonderful deal presented to me but I hesitated.  The next day I was presented with another deal that totally trumped the first deal…yes the first deal that seemed like a steal at the time.  This second deal had the same wide open door opportunity with God’s provision on it and it was sweeter than the one before. My delay brought about something even better but had I not waited a little while longer I would have settled and would not have known that there was better out there.

Our immediate reaction to something awesome is “You better jump on it!” But the Holy Spirit has taught me that NO, that is not always the correct route to take! Had I jumped on the first “awesome” deal I would have TOTALLY been missing out on some better perks down the road. God’s favor just blew my mind with this second opportunity and I am glad that He delayed me through my lack of peace.

Pause right there for a moment…if you are in the middle of making a decision but you are uneasy and lacking peace then that is a pretty good indictor that you should hold off just a little while longer until God has given you His full peace. If He doesn’t then you probably should move on. You know God does not operate in confusion.

Ok press play again…so the moral of the story is that every open door and every wonderful opportunity/thing does not necessarily mean it is YOUR great and wonderful thing. This can be applied to any area in your life. Just because a job opening is available does not mean that you should jump on it because you meet all of the qualifications. Just because you get an awesome deal on a house/car/investment does not mean you snatch up the first one you lay your eyes on.

This can also be applied to your relationship life…just because you have come across a great man/woman does NOT mean that he/she is YOUR great man or woman…be lead by the spirit and not by your heart and fleshly desires. Also, not every “good” person needs to be your friend. I am reminded of a sermon from Bishop T.D. Jakes when he said, “when you are called and set apart by God you can not be common in your associations because of your unique path.”

The Holy Spirit is always teaching but are you paying attention?! Don’t fall asleep in His class and then complain when you fail the test! He will tell you when to start, when to end, when to go, and when to wait…Remember you will always be presented with multiple options but whatever you choose will be based on your connection (or disconnect) with the Father. Wake up, pay attention, & let Him guide you to a place of peace!

“The steps of a good man are ordered by the Lord, And He delights in his way.”

Psalm 37:23

“Your ears shall hear a word behind you, saying,
“This is the way, walk in it,”
Whenever you turn to the right hand
Or whenever you turn to the left.”

Isaiah 30:21

© Trillion Small 2013 All Rights Reserved.

I would love to hear from you!

