T^4: Too Timid To Talk

IMAG0188

Ok this morning was quite an interesting one. It started off pretty decent but then this particular thing did not go my way so I experienced a slight dip in my joy. I started grumbling and complaining saying things like, “Ugh, I was fine before all of this happened” and stuff like that…you know the usual complainer statements.

So as I was sulking around the house pouting God wanted me to talk about it with Him but I was like, “It’s okay I really don’t wish to talk about this right now.” While attempting to avoid talking about it the Holy Spirit reminded me of a message from last Wednesday from bible study. The pastor was talking about the story of Peter walking on water (Matthew 14:22-33 NKJV). I had never paid attention to this but the pastor was showing us how Jesus was watching Him as he was going down UNTIL he opened up his mouth to ask for help and at that moment Jesus responded IMMEDIATELY.

(30 But when he saw that the wind was boisterous, he was afraid; and beginning to sink he cried out, saying, “Lord, save me!” 31 And immediately Jesus stretched out His hand and caught him, and said to him, “O you of little faith, why did you doubt?”)

With this word in mind I decided to begin talking to God about how I was feeling and what I wanted from the situation. After venting He then asked me, “What do you want?” and I told Him. People I kid you not…shortly after finally telling Him what I wanted I got a confirmation through a friend that what I was desiring He would do I just needed to trust Him.

I am not so sure why we as believers (maybe it’s just me) are so timid to ask God for things like He is some big bad wolf that will huff and puff at every request and desire that we make and have. I think for me I just avoided asking because I didn’t want to ask for something that I shouldn’t be asking for (what we think is good for us is not always good for us). So my fear of asking was simply due to the fear of asking for the wrong things.

So when I asked Him I said, “If this is in your will then I want XYZ…..” and He responded positively to my request. After this, now the way that I look at it is if He doesn’t do it or give it to me then it wasn’t in His will. Yes there is a permissive will and free will so we can get things and it not necessarily be in His will but I trust our relationship enough to know that if I ask for something that I don’t need He simply will tell me NO! That’s just how He and my relationship is and I love it that way because God knows I have asked for some stuff that I thought were perfect for me but whoooo thank God He didn’t let me have it because looking back now I see how catastrophic it would have been if He just let me have what I begged for.

Remember, God moves when we speak so don’t be afraid to go to Him and tell Him ALL about the desires of your heart. He is listening and He does care. This definitely was a faith feeder for me so let it strengthen yours too! On a final note, the closer you get to God the more blended you will notice His desires and your desires will become. So in essence when you are asking for things…it is the desire He has placed in you in the first place sooo you are simply asking for something He has already approved 😉

…………………………………….

∆ Phone God: Thank you Daddy for desiring to commune with me. I have so much to say but I am not quite sure how to say it or how to ask it. Please help me to know that I can be comfortable with you and that I can trust you with the desires of my heart. You care about everything concerning, me even my thoughts, so I give my desires and concerns over to you. I will trust you regardless if your answer is something I want to hear or something I do not want to hear. I know that you have my best interest in mind! I love you Daddy in Jesus name, Amen.

∆ Chew on this:

“And whatever you ask in My name, that I will do, that the Father may be glorified in the Son.”

– John 14:13

“And in that day you will ask Me nothing. Most assuredly, I say to you, whatever you ask the Father in My name He will give you.”

 – John 16:23

“Therefore I say to you, whatever things you ask when you pray, believe that you receive them, and you will have them.”

 – Mark 11:24

“Ask, and it will be given to you; seek, and you will find; knock, and it will be opened to you. For everyone who asks receives, and he who seeks finds, and to him who knocks it will be opened.”

 – Matthew 7:7-12

“For the Lord God is a sun and shield; The Lord will give grace and glory; No good thing will He withhold from those who walk uprightly.”

– Psalm 84:11

∆ Ponder on this:

  • What do you have on your heart that you are too timid to ask God about?
  • What could be the worst that could happen from you asking? Him saying no isn’t all THAT bad…at least you asked!
  • If life and death are in the power of the tongue then that speaks volumes about the importance of our mouth. It is a powerful weapon so use it to your advantage.

∆ Act on this:

  • God gave you a voice so use it! Go to God in prayer and empty out all that you are holding back…
  • Feed your faith not your fear!

© Trillion Small 2013 All Rights Reserved.

I would love to hear from you!

