Sitting With Me

IMAG1067

“Where can I go from Your Spirit?
Or where can I flee from Your presence?
If I ascend into heaven, You are there;
If I make my bed in hell, behold, You are there.
If I take the wings of the morning,
And dwell in the uttermost parts of the sea,
10 Even there Your hand shall lead me,
And Your right hand shall hold me.
11 If I say, “Surely the darkness shall fall on me,”
Even the night shall be light about me;
12 Indeed, the darkness shall not hide from You,
But the night shines as the day;
The darkness and the light are both alike to You.”

Psalm 139:7-12

 

I took the picture above of the empty bench while on a break from class. When staring at the empty seat it made me think of the times I have experienced being alone. There have been times in my life where I would have people around me but I still felt lonely. Isn’t it quite a paradox of how you can have so many “friends” around yet feel so alone?

During those times of isolation it is easy to begin to feel that even God has for some reason become distant and absent from you. This isn’t the case though. I like to think of our isolated seasons as opportunity for great introspection and reflection of your self and your life.

I once heard the saying that the closer you get to a person the more you are able to see their flaws. I think this is reason why so many people keep up a barrier and only allow people so close to avoid them from seeing the “real them” (but that’s another story). If you are alone the only person close to you is…you…so as you get alone and have all this “me-time” you soon begin to see all of the things that could use some improvement in your life! Maybe that’s why we hate being alone…hmm what a thought! Too much time to think about our own jumbo mumbo.

 Your “winter” seasons can seem very dead, boring, cold, and lonely but I have gained so much in my own winter seasons. I have become a better me, a better woman, and a better believer. Most of my inner healing have come during this time because I used the time to allow God to do “surgery” on me and to help me rid myself of anything not like Him.

You can be feel alone and have a house full of people. These feelings are not due to our physical deficiencies but rather our mental, emotional, and spiritual needs. If these needs are not met then it does not matter how many people you have around you.

I love the scripture above because it reminds us that no matter where we are or where we go…God is ALWAYS there with us! We obviously are not good at playing the “Hide-and- Go-Seek Game” lol. There is no hiding from God and that is actually great news.

No matter how you feel just know that God is always with you. He never leaves us but at times we may try to leave His presence. If it is love you are looking for…reach out to Him. If it is a friend you are looking for…reach out to Him. If it is a companion you are looking for…reach out to Him. If it is a hug you are looking for…reach out to Him. If it is a kiss you are looking for…reach out to Him. If it is support you are looking for…reach out to Him.

I do not think His name is “I AM” for no reason…whatever you need He IS and HAS!!!

Let Him love on ya’ and allow Him to be what you need in any given situation! He wants to be there for you so won’t you let Him?

© Trillion Small 2013 All Rights Reserved.

6 thoughts on “Sitting With Me

I would love to hear from you!

