Crossing Over Into Your New Season

IMAG0897

The past 12 months have been a time of rest for me. I had about a 6 months window before I could begin my doctoral program and God wanted me to do absolutely nothing but rest. I would try to use the time to take extra classes at church and to read as many spiritual books as possible but God was like, “Nope, I just want you to rest in my presence.”

That sounds fun and dandy but boy was it hard for me. I felt like I was just sitting around wasting time not doing anything but God had given me permission to do nothing. It felt like I was being lazy but those hours that I would spend in His presence day after day were priceless! By no means was that a waste of time.

Now that my spiritual seasons in life have shifted I am able to reflect back and understand why I had to rest! Now don’t be fooled, just because I was in a “resting” season does not mean everything was cookies and milk either. The past year was by far the most difficult year; guess I was in a season of crying because I did that often!

Pressure and rest. Strain and rest. Resistance and rest. You know what that sounds like to be? It sounds like weight training!  In order to build muscles you have to first work them out and then second you must rest! During the resting and sleeping periods is when this occurs. If you are pumping iron hard but not giving your body  time to rest and recover then you probably are not seeing the best results as possible.

 As I look back I now understand…I was in God’s weight room. In order to get the strength that I now have I had to go through his weight training process and sit down somewhere afterwards.

This was a continuous process over the course of many months but now I feel that I am in a shifting process. Yes, I will always have room to grow and get stronger but that particular season of my life is now over.

Working out never feels good while you are doing it (especially if you are doing it with high intensity and effort). It hurts, it burns, and it makes you just want to quit. The reason you don’t quit, however, is because when you go home and look in the mirror and see new results it makes the pain and strain well worth it!

My past season was a “resting season” but now I am being shifted into an “arise season”. I’ve gotten great rest in but now it is time to put my hand to the plow, and not look back.

I have some serious work to be done and I intend on fulfilling every assignment and purpose God has for me to complete while here on earth. It is time to cross over the bridge from resting to acting. Your purpose is waiting for you on the other side so what are you waiting for?

You have 86, 4000 seconds in each day! How do you plan on using them? I sure hope not sitting around like a couch potato looking for your blessing to drop from the ceiling…

…………………………………………….

∆ Phone God: Dear Daddy, thank you for whichever season I am in. If I am to rest, help me to be still. And if I am to move, help me to be diligent in all that I do. I thank you for this new season of great wonders! You are Love and outside of you there is nothing so I seek you today with all of my heart. I totally surrender my all to you Lord! Shape, make, and build me however you see fit! In Jesus name, Amen.

∆ Chew on this:

  • “Rise up, my love, my fair one,
    And come away.
    11 For lo, the winter is past,
    The rain is over and gone.
    12 The flowers appear on the earth;
    The time of singing has come,
    And the voice of the turtledove
    Is heard in our land.
    13 The fig tree puts forth her green figs,
    And the vines with the tender grapes
    Give a good smell.
    Rise up, my love,
    my fair one,
    And come away!” – Songs of Solomon 2:10-13

∆ Ponder on this:

  • What season of your life are you now in?
  • Where does it seem God is taking (or trying to take you)?
  • Are you being proACTIVE in your own life?

∆ Act on this:

  • Figure out which season you are in…if you are to rest, then rest. But, if you are to move, then move.
  • Spend more time than you usually do in God’s presence.
I would love to hear from you!

