Fear Less & Achieve More

IMAG0814

Pardon my M.I.A.ness (Missing In Action). I have been on spring break and I just got back from Montreal, Canada a few days ago so I am getting back into the swing of things.

Canada was very fun and the most fun that I had was skiing. It was my first time ever skiing so it was both exciting yet frightful at the same time! My mother and I were rookies at skiing so we chose to get on the children/beginner slope 🙂 (It was still steep to me for beginners if you ask me!)

So, we get to the ski location and I see the huge mountains with skiers just speeding down the steep slopes with ease. My excitement increased and I was ready to join them (on the baby slope though of course, lol).

We are now geared all up and ready to ride the lift to the top of our slope. Before we get on I ask the man basic, but essential things, such as how to stop and turn. My mom then asks him if she can ride back down if she is afraid to ski down. He said that you could not ride back down but if you did not want to ski down then you would have to take the skis off and walk down.

As soon as we get to the top of the slope we wobble out of the seat and inch our way towards the edge right before we hit the point of no return. I stare down the hill for about 5 minutes trying to figure out how to get down all in one piece. I see other people just scoot on down, falling and all.

So I take the first step (slide or whatever you call it) and I’m finally in motion. I started off skiing towards the snow wall because it gave me a sense of comfort that I could have something to run into in the event of an emergency. Sure enough I did, I didn’t know how to turn so to the wall I went. Bam! I hit the ground very hard and burst into a deep laughter. I think I was more overjoyed at the fact that falling didn’t hurt like I thought it would.

I finally got down and decided to venture back up the lift to give it a second try. I felt a little bit more confident so I jumped right into it and about half way down…Bam! I plopped again this time harder…hard enough for my skis to go flying off! Lol. I was okay though 🙂

From that moment on I did not fall any more. I was able to maneuver more towards the middle of the hill and I was able to swivel left and right to add some fun to it. I realized that the less time I gave myself to be fearful the better I got and the quicker I got to the bottom of the hill without falling.

IMAG0852

The moral of the story: fear is meant to handicap you and cause you to feel that what is ahead of you is too large for you to handle. Your fear is then confirmed as you wobble down the path, that you questioned in the first place, and smash against the wall. Fear told you not to go and your face against the wall and in the ground confirmed that notion. BUT…the moment you ignore fear and stand up a little bit straighter you realize…it isn’t that hard or bad after all!

Feeding your fear only gives you a self-fulfilling prophecy, that you can’t do it and never should have attempted.

After conquering my fear I no longer stood at the top looking down already defeated…NOPE…I stood at the top already with a victorious mindset knowing that I could master that challenge without failing again! (and I didn’t)

IMAG0841

Note to reader: stop letting fear dictate what you can and cannot do! The more you feed your fear the more you will receive “confirmation” that you cannot do it and should never attempt again! Instead you need to (1) stand strong, (2) remember the instructions you were given, (3) have a winning mindset, (4) remember that if God told you to do it then you CAN and He has already equipped you with everything you need to do it with Him by your side, (5) stop looking for alternative ways to do what you were told to do (no walking down if you were meant to ski down), and (6) just go and do it! Simple as that!

A few nuggets to take home:

Fear only makes the assignment that God gives you seem impossible.

Fear slows you down.

The longer you dwell on reasons “why” you can’t do something the more you are allowing fear to set in and build up.

10 times out of 10 what you fear concerning the assignment on your life is non-existent.

 The easiest way to overcome fear is to do what you fear.

What you are afraid to do is probably a good indicator that that is the very thing you should be doing.

……………………..

“For God has not given us a spirit of fear, but of power and of love and of a sound mind.” II Timothy 1:7

 

“The Lord is my light and my salvation; whom shall I fear? The Lord is the strength of my life; of whom shall I be afraid?” – Psalm 27:1

 

“There is no fear in love; but perfect love casts out fear, because fear involves torment. But he who fears has not been made perfect in love.” – I John 4:18

 

 ……………………..

If you didn’t have fear what could you be doing with your life right now?

What is fear causing you to miss out on?

How do you plan to kick fear to the curb?

© Trillion Small 2013 All Rights Reserved.

I would love to hear from you!

