A Moment of Truth: Are You Transparent Enough?

IMAG0188

Over the past few weeks God has truly been speaking to be about being open about who I am, my struggles, my flaws, and all. I keep having this thought run through my head of how I would prefer to follow someone who is transparent about their issues and is willing to show others how they made it through.

For example, this past Saturday I went skating with a friend. I did end up falling; only once though, lol. After watching a really great skater fall really hard I leaned in to my friend and said, “It makes me feel better when I see the really great skaters fall.” Now, I didn’t say this in such a way to laugh at their moment of failure but I said it as a mode of encouragement for myself. Many people that were less skilled were falling and many children were falling but the “expert” skater falling had more impact on me. Why? Because it showed me that even the best of us can fall sometimes and it’s okay as long as we get back up and keep trucking along.

I often say how I would prefer a person with a testimony and some struggles in their life to tell me that I can make it through too compared to someone who has had a 100% perfect life (or so they say!).

It is so funny how God gives you an opportunity to act on the revelation He has given you and an opportunity to practice your own preaching. I am in the process of being a guest writer on this particular website and I asked what they would like for me to write about and the editor responded and asked if I could write something nitty gritty from my own life of something that God brought me through that made Him seem more real.

For some reason I got those nervous flutters in my belly. I have much to talk about that God has brought me through…but the moment of truth isn’t so appealing after all when it is your own stuff that you are exposing.

Being open, honest, and truthful about our own lives and struggles can be a very uncomfortable and difficult thing for each of us to do. However, what good is it if God continues to do great things in your life and delivers you time after time yet you fail to share the goodness with others? We are supposed to share the good news right?

Your testimony is good news of the greatness of God, you being forgiven is good news of God’s sovereignty, you being saved is good news of God’s love, you being healed and/or delivered is good news of God’s miraculous hand, you being set free is good news of God’s redemptive power, and you being blessed and protected is good news of God’s grace & mercy.

Though uncomfortable, be the light in somebody’s dark situation and share of how God became real to you.

So now I take a big gulp, remove the “everything is great over here” sign, and prepare my heart and mind for what God wishes for me to share.

…………………………..……………

∆ Phone God: Thank you Dad for giving me the opportunity to practice what I preach. I pray that you help me to put aside my pride and “togetherness- face” in order to help others who need it. Give me the boldness to be transparent and honest about my life and how you have brought me through. Thank you for using the negative moments in my life that you brought me out of as a blessing in other person’s life. I am grateful knowing that I can help others simply by sharing my testimony. In Jesus name, amen.

∆ Chew on this:

  • Acts 26- Paul’s testimony
  • “You therefore, my son, be strong in the grace that is in Christ Jesus. And the things that you have heard from me among many witnesses, commit these to faithful men who will be able to teach others alsoYou therefore must endure[a] hardship as a good soldier of Jesus Christ. No one engaged in warfare entangles himself with the affairs of this life, that he may please him who enlisted him as a soldier.” – II Timothy 2:1-4

∆ Ponder on this:

  • What are some things that God has brought you through that you know will benefit so many others?
  • Remember that we do not only go through for the development of ourselves but also for others also!
    • So, who’s breakthrough, deliverance, and/or blessing is tied to you sharing of God’s power in your own life?

∆ Act on this:

  • Begin to share with others how and when God became more real to you.

 

© Trillion Small 2013 All Rights Reserved.

4 thoughts on “A Moment of Truth: Are You Transparent Enough?

    • Wow this is very neat how we are literally talking about the same thing! Isn’t it just a huge burden lifted after being REAL with ourselves, God, and others! During my journey of discovering that I could take my mask off, God even was showing me how I was keeping my mask on with Him too and not being open and honest with Him either. Now I can just run into His arms like a little girl and sit in His lap and tell Him the real deal stuff (that He already knows anyways lol…so no point in faking it).

  1. I totally agree that it feels so good to have the burden lifted off your shoulders of having to always “have it all together” when we really don’t especially in front of people, because we know we can’t fool God but for the most part we can fool people. But being transparent is the best way to be. 🙂

I would love to hear from you!

