Learn A Little From Your Holiday Cooking: You have more in common than you think ;-)

CookieDough

Last night I was making some very delicious oatmeal cookies. It was the kind that you had to use your hands to mash the dough together to mix the ingredients. Anyways, while rolling the dough and putting them in the pan I realized that I had more dough then I had room to put them in the pan. I started to move them closer together but then I thought in my head, “no, leave room for them to grow because once they are in the oven they will expand.”

 Then I began to think about us as believers and discovered that we are just like cookie dough, lol. Let me explain…

We are just like cookie dough because:

 1.     God knows who we are and what we will become

The reasons that we do not have to wait until we get home to bake the cookies and then taste them to figure out what they are is because the label on the package tells us what we are getting.

Jeremiah 1:5 says “Before I formed you in the womb I knew you, before you were born I set you apart; I appointed you as a prophet to the nations.” The beautiful thing about our manufacturer, God, is that even if we mess up He doesn’t do a recall on us. I love how one pastor put it, “He already has factored in our foolishness”. He knows who we are, how we are, and what we are and He loves us just the same.

 2.     We all are made up of certain ingredients

Scripture says in Psalm 139:14 that “…I am fearfully & wonderfully made.” Each and every one of us has our own unique wrapping with our own unique ingredients. God was very intentional in how He made all of us; inside and out.

With this being said, don’t try to be a chocolate chip cookie if you were made to be a sugar cookie and don’t try to be a jumbo cookie if you were only given enough dough (no pun intended) to be a mini cookie. You are at your best when you are doing what you are called to do. It will be very obvious to on-lookers that you are working in a realm outside of your authority and anointing so stay in the lane God has you in.  (Romans 9:21)

3.     We all have to endure the uncomfortable but necessary process

The cookies that I was making were the ones that would not mix well if you only used a spoon; the only way all of the ingredients would be blended well together was if I used my hand to mash and press it all together.

As believers, we go through the same “blending” process and it hurts. It is uncomfortable and we want it to be over with but it is necessary to assure that we will come out just right!

John 15:2 tells us that we, as branches connected to the True Vine (Jesus Christ), will be pruned so to assure that we bear more fruit. Romans 5:3-4 encourages us to not whine about our pains but rather to rejoice about them simply because the pressures that we endure will produce great things in us.

4.     God shapes and molds us just how He wants us to be

After mashing the dough together I then rolled it to make small dough balls that were each about 2 inches in width.

Isaiah 64:8 says, “Yet you, LORD, are our Father. We are the clay, you are the potter; we are all the work of your hand.” Going along with being fearfully & wonderfully made, God formed us to be in the likeness of His image. Which means YOU, yes YOU look beautiful/handsome just the way you are!

5.     Enduring the heat is a must

Shaping the cookie dough first is so vital BEFORE putting them in the oven because which ever way you put them in the oven is how they will be set once they have gone through the heating process. If you want a star cookie as your finishing product then you sure better have a star cookie cutter.

Job 23:10 says, “But He knows the way that I take; when He has tested me, I will come forth as gold.” Also, I Peter 1:6-7 says, “…that the genuineness of your faith, being much more precious than gold that perishes, though it is tested by fire, may be found to praise, honor, and glory at the revelation of Jesus Christ.”

As you may know, the way gold is tested is by being put through fire. You too, being more precious than gold, must endure some fiery seasons to assure that you come out the way God intended for you to be.

Another reason we must endure the heat is because dough without heat is not edible (not recommended at least). So basically, it has no use or purpose. Your credibility comes after you have endured the heat. {testimony-less people are not as helpful as one who has gone through and came out better!}

6.     We must leave some room for us to grow

As mentioned in the intro, I did not want to put the cookies too close because I knew once I put them in the oven that they would expand. Every single day we should be growing closer and closer to God and growing more and more to look like Him and His character.

If you are at a stand still and have yet to see much growth in your life then maybe you have not left any room for growth. God is a limitless God who CANNOT be confined to the limits of a box mentality. Loose the limits that you have on God and watch Him expand you like never before…but remember you must leave some room to grow.

 7.     We might even get a little something something extra added to our life

Once the cookies are out of the oven they are finished but if you choose, you can add icing and/or sprinkles on it just to add some decoration and more flavor.

God desires to bless us too so after we have endured through it…He tends to throw some sprinkles on top 😉  [Read Psalm 65:4 & II Timothy 2:1-5 for more reading pleasures]

 

 ………………………………………………………

∆ Phone God:Dear Lord, I am thankful that everything that I go through has reason behind it and that whether it is good or bad, you can use it for my the ultimate good. I know I am wonderfully made so I ask that you help me to live like it from here on out. Thank you! In Jesus name, Amen.

∆ Chew on this:

  • “Does not the potter have the right to make out of the same lump of clay some pottery for special purposes and some for common use?” – Romans 9:21
  • “Not only so, but we also glory in our sufferings, because we know that suffering produces perseverance; perseverance, character; and character, hope.” – Romans 5:3-4
  • “Every branch in Me that does not bear fruit He takes away; and every branch that bears fruit He prunes, that it may bear more fruit.”- John 15:2
  • “So God created mankind in his own image, in the image of God he created them; male and female he created them.” – Genesis 1:27 

∆ Ponder on this:

  • Think about some of your molding and heating seasons in your life. How have they changed your life?

∆ Act on this:

  • Ask God what He thinks about you. If your thoughts are different from His then ask Him to help you change your negative thoughts about yourself.

 

 © Trillion Small 2012 All Rights Reserved.

3 thoughts on “Learn A Little From Your Holiday Cooking: You have more in common than you think ;-)

  1. Love this image! Amazing how our ordinary tasks in life can produce metaphors that inspire or show God’s nature in a way that everyone can understand! I have one on socks that I will be posting after the holidays! I have been molded the last couple of years with illness and cancer. It has left me with a humble sense of gratitude for simple tasks I took for granted that are difficult now. And has left me grateful for what I have left.

    • Isn’t that amazing! I think we could learn so much if we just payed attention to the simple things in our life. I feel that even things that are undesired can even be used for our good as God can take anything and make it beautiful and we can use it to help others who follow behind us. Your story has and will continue to strengthen people who need to hear what you have to say!

  2. Pingback: Maybe It’s Not the Enemy…Maybe It’s God | TEN^TWELVE

I would love to hear from you!

