Get Your Head In The Clouds

SunAboveClouds

The picture above is one that I took a few days ago while driving home. It had been raining all day and the dark clouds were finally clearing out. I thought this was so beautiful so I had to stop and take the time to capture the moment. While doing so it reminded me of a time that I was on an airplane. I forget where I was going but I was very excited. The sun was shining and from my point of view, in the plane, it was going to be a lovely day when we landed.

However, that was not the case! The pilot delayed landing just for a moment to allow the lightening (wait what lightening?!) to stop before we landed. When we finally broke through the clouds and were now below the clouds I was able to see what the pilot was talking about. It wasn’t sunny after all on the ground, it was dark and rainy 😦 . This immediately altered my happy go lucky mood to be a bit somber.

Was I disillusioned by what I saw? No not at all because it was real and what I saw was all determinant on the altitude at which my perspective was. When I was high and above the dark clouds I felt optimistic and hopeful about what was to come but when I was leveled with and below the dark clouds I immediately had a mood shift.

I’m sure you have heard the saying, “get your head out of the clouds!” Typically when this is said it is referenced to someone who is daydreaming and/or not paying attention to his or her current surroundings” but I have come to tell you to keep your head in the clouds!

Why? Because the higher you are the less dreary your circumstances will appear and the higher you are your perspective will begin to change. You will no longer look at your circumstances from Earth-up but you will look at them the way that you are suppose to and that is Heaven-down. Ephesians 2: 6 reminds us that He has made us sit in the heavenly places in Christ Jesus and in Psalm 110:1 we also find scripture that says…. The Lord said to my Lord, “Sit at My right hand, till I make Your enemies Your footstool.”

The thing about it being cloudy and rainy during the day is that it is hard to see the sun but it is important to remember that the sun never left and it is still shining…it is shining above the dreary day!

The thing that I love about this picture is that it shows very clearly that despite the dark clouds…the sun still shines brighter and it gives some hope to the the dark and gloomy situation.

Look above the clouds of your life, look above the dark and gloomy news, look above the hopeless and dreadful circumstances and see the SON. The closer you get to Him the better he makes you and your life look. Don’t fear what is around you but instead choose to go up to another level and view your life and your circumstances the way Jesus’ does…Heaven down to Earth and not Earth up to Heaven…it looks a lot better that way anyways.

…………………………………………………………..

∆ Phone God: Dear God, I love you. Despite what my circumstances look like I have chosen to look beyond where I am to see things the way that you do. I will no longer be bound by what I see around me but I will be encouraged and motivated because I know that you still shine regardless of what happens! Thank you for your never ending love and power! In Jesus name, amen.

∆ Chew on this:

  • “[He] raised us up together, and made us sit together in the heavenly places in Christ Jesus,that in the ages to come He might show the exceeding riches of His grace in His kindness toward us in Christ Jesus.” – Ephesians 2:6 

∆ Ponder on this:

  • How do you view your life and circumstances around you? (Heaven down to Earth or Earth up to Heaven?)
    • Heaven –> Earth perspective is seeing things the way God does. It is seeing the ultimate end result being full of hope, love, faith, and optimism despite what is going on.
    • Earth –> Heaven perspective is being engulfed by all that is around you that it is so difficult to see the sun (Son) on the other side of your trials. It is focusing on all the chaos and troubles and not seeing a way out. It is seeing all the doom and gloom with out sight of a brighter day.

∆ Act on this:

  • Decide now how you can begin to view your life from Heaven –> Earth rather than the opposite.
  • What are some of your thoughts that run continually in your head? If they are irrational then replace them with promises from Heaven.

 

 © Trillion Small 2012 All Rights Reserved.

4 thoughts on “Get Your Head In The Clouds

  1. Your idea of perspective above and below the clouds really struck me. I am bipolar, and my plane weaves in and out without control. No matter what I read for inspiration, it controls my day. Medication helps, but leaves me in a gray world much of the time. I wish I could look up to the clouds and stay there.

    • Hey Lorene! Thank you so much for what you have shared here. I have worked with a couple of patients who also have been diagnosed so I understand what you mean.

      I was wondering, have you ever tried “soaking”? It is very similar to mediation (if not the same thing). It basically is resting before the Lord and doing nothing else (not even thinking, lol).

      I have been doing it for some time now and it has been such a huge relief for me; knowing that I have been given permission to simply sit before my Heavenly Daddy and do nothing and He be okay with it.

      This is not “clinical advise” obviously but a spiritual suggestion. I have seen the amazing benefits and results it has in my life and in my mood so it is my prayer that you will see the same advantages!

      I play soft worship music and sometimes I don’t. I simply find a quiet place in my home and I lie down on the floor with a pillow and I close my eyes and allow God to rest in me and whisper whatever He desires to tell me at the time.

      It may be difficult at first to sit still but you can start with a short amount of time and work your way up.

      If you do try it tell me how it goes for you 🙂 I pray you see great benefits from this Lorene!

      • Lovely idea. Time is my enemy, as it is to all. Finding the critical daily tasks may be one of the secrets to contentment. And I am trying to find more time to read the Bible. So I could spend a few minutes in quiet thought afterwards. I definitely know that my early morning mood will set my whole day into order or chaos, true for everyone. It’s just that with me, chaos breeds an emotional cyclone. I need to get up earlier and do this first thing in the morning. Ok, Im going to try it tomorrow.

      • 🙂 Yes try it in the morning before you begin your day! Time & rest is very hard to find and do but it is essential for our well being. At first I felt like I was wasting time “doing nothing” but the benefits and time spent with God far outweighed my feelings of “wasting time”. Just let Him love on you in the morning! You will feel great!

I would love to hear from you!

