Deeply Intrigued by the Deep: Going Deeper May Hurt (Part III)

IMG_1286

A couple of blogs ago I mentioned how I had become increasingly interested in the “deepness” of God and what all that entails. I posted a song called Deeper by Marvin Sapp because it was the song that got my wheels churning about this topic. The last lines of the song says, “Though it may have some pain, I adhere to the call inside of me…He’s calling me deeper.” This really made me question, “why does going deeper hurt?!”

I mean you would think that since it is something He desires from us that He would make it a little bit more appeasing for us; but nah that would be too easy wouldn’t it? Yes, I agree it would be, lol.

I thought and thought and thought and thanks to one of my group members in my counseling group I was able to come to a conclusion. Her statement was very simple yet filled with revelation for me.  Another group member was putting hand sanitizer on to discover that she had a cut in her hand that she was unaware of and the first group member said, “Yea, sanitizer helps you to find unknown cuts.”

A light bulb went off in my head with this simple yet profound statement. The hand sanitizer [Jesus Christ] reveals to us [the hand] by way of a sting [exposure/conviction/rebuke/correction/pressure/etc…] to get our attention to let us know that there is something deeper there that we are unaware of but needs our attention.

Here are some natural examples to help you understand this spiritual concept:

  • The moment you go below the skin surface, you feel pain and the deeper you go…the more painful it is. For example, a paper cut only needing a band-aid versus a knife stab wound needing 20 stitches. Which one hurts worse? Exactly! Why? Because it is deeper.
  • What hurts worse…
    • Standing straight up against a wall or going deeper into a chair squat?
    • Doing a barely there girly push up or going all the way down to the ground and back up?
    • Which one has the capacity to cause intense pain and injury if breathing is done incorrectly? Snorkeling or scuba diving? {if you don’t know much about either the answer is scuba diving and you can learn why here.

Hopefully you get the point now. Going deeper takes you out of your typical comfort zone and it stretches you to do things that you are not use to doing and things that just feel down right uncomfortable and even painful. BUT, you see better results and you see things that you would have never saw on the surface when going deeper (bigger arms, nice quads, & bigger fish…there are no “good results” about a deeper cut besides maybe it just taught you a lesson to not do what you did to get it; that example was specifically to show that deeper does hurt worse, 🙂 ).

So why may going deeper with Jesus hurt? I believe because the deeper you go, you will begin to get into some unfamiliar territories which makes us uncomfortable, which exposes our own personal things/weaknesses/issues/insecurities/fears, which may cause some uneasiness and pain, which pushes us to find answers and solutions, which ultimately brings us to Jesus Christ. And although I hate to say this but many times it is pain that propels us to go deeper.

……………..……………………………………….

∆ Phone God: Dear Dad, thank you for calling me to a deeper relationship with you. Like the song said, though it may cause me some pain I am still willing to go to that place of deeper intimacy with you that you desire. I thank you now for the desire and want to go deeper with you Father. In Jesus name, Amen.

∆ Chew on this:

  • “He reveals deep and secret things; He knows what is in the darkness, And light dwells with Him.” – Daniel 2:22
  • “I, the Lord, search the heart, I test the mind [deep things], even to give every man according to his ways, according to the fruit of his doings.” – Jeremiah 17:10

∆ Ponder on this:

  • Would you say that the painful times in your life were the times that you have found yourself intensely going deeper in the Lord (praying, fasting, meditating on His word, etc on a continual basis)?
  • Why is it that you feel that pain usually triggers a deeper cry and draw towards God unlike any other time?

∆ Act on this:

  • Intentionally rest and spend time with Jesus.

 

 © Trillion Small 2012 All Rights Reserved.

I would love to hear from you!

