Deeply Intrigued by the Deep: The Deeper the Bigger & Better (Part II)

IMG_1282

“But why do you call Me ‘Lord, Lord,’ and not do the things which I say? 47 Whoever comes to Me, and hears My sayings and does them, I will show you whom he is like: 48 He is like a man building a house, who dug deep and laid the foundation on the rock. And when the flood arose, the stream beat vehemently against that house, and could not shake it, for it was founded on the rock.49 But he who heard and did nothing is like a man who built a house on the earth without a foundation, against which the stream beat vehemently; and immediately it fell. And the ruin of that house was great.”

– Luke 6:46-49

 

For Part II of my “Deep” series I would like to touch on why going deeper is better for us; very short, sweet, & simple. For the sake of your imagination, as you read this blog imagine both a skyscraper as well as a giant Oak tree.

(1)  You please God

God desires a very deep and intimate relationship with each and every one of us. He wants us to enter into the inner most parts of His chambers and commune with Him. As you draw closer to Him, He will draw closer to you. As verse 47 states, after leaving God’s presence you are imparted with wisdom & instruction. What you do with that information is up to you but it pleases God when we are obedient and follow what we have been told.

(2)   The higher and stronger you can grow

Large trees have roots that run deep; the larger the tree the deeper and larger the roots. Also, the bigger the building the larger the foundation is. If you desire to be this major influential person in the world for the purposes of the Kingdom then it will require you to run deeper. The higher you grow above the surface, should be the same depth you grow below the surface (in your own personal life). If your above ground work (roles in the world) surpasses the growth of your under ground work (inner growth/relationship with Christ) then surely the imbalance will catch up with you and you will find yourself crumbling under pressure.

 

(3)  You are weather proof

Those without a strong foundation in the Rock (Jesus Christ) are sure to crumble when under the storms and troubles of life. Baby trees and plants without deeply rooted roots are more likely to be uprooted when storms come compared to large trees. Verse 49 is a warning sign for those who wish to only remain at a surface level with Christ. We are guaranteed trouble and our relationship with Jesus Christ is like our “insurance plan”…He has us covered when storms come and try to damage us. Just like with real insurance, you don’t wait until after the storm or disaster to get car, rental, home, property, etc… insurance; no, you purchase it way ahead of time and pay monthly to maintain the insurance so that if something was to happen unexpectedly you will be protected. Build a continual relationship with Christ pre not post a disaster in your life.

 ………………………………………………..

∆ Phone God: Thank you Lord for calling me deeper. I pray that you continue to reveal to me the areas in my life that need more attention from you. I thank you that you are giving me the opportunity now to build my house in you as my solid foundation. Thank you for being my Rock. In Jesus name, Amen.

∆ Chew on this:

  • “Come near to God and he will come near to you. Wash your hands, you sinners, and purify your hearts, you double-minded.”- James 4:8
  • For no one can lay any foundation other than the one already laid, which is Jesus Christ.” – I Corinthians 3:11
  • “The LORD is my rock, my fortress and my deliverer; my God is my rock, in whom I take refuge. He is my shield and the horn of my salvation, my stronghold.” – Psalm 18:2
  • “Man who is born of woman is of few days and full of trouble.” – Job 14:1

∆ Ponder on this:

  • When troubles come are you tossed and turned whichever way the wind blows or are you firmly rooted in Jesus Christ as your foundation?
  • What areas in your life or what things are you doing that you know are not pleasing to God?

∆ Act on this:

  • Take time to sit still before God and simply talk and commune with Him today.

 

 © Trillion Small 2012 All Rights Reserved.

One thought on “Deeply Intrigued by the Deep: The Deeper the Bigger & Better (Part II)

  1. Pingback: Deeply Intrigued by the Deep: Going Deeper May Hurt (Part III) « Trillion Small

I would love to hear from you!

