It’s Not You…It’s Me

IMG_2268

Hello guys, I am so glad that you all could join me. The reason that I have called you all together is to inform you that…It is over…I am leaving.

No, wait! Let me finish. I know each of you thought I was faithful to you and only you but the truth is…I cheated…on all of you!

It started with you, Fear. You really had me going. You would whisper sweet NOTHINGS in my ear and have me make sudden moves without even thinking. You made me feel safe…in a weird kind of way. I knew that if there was a good thing that I needed to do…you’d have my back! But that is the thing…you held me back! When I wanted to move…you wouldn’t let me and when I didn’t want to move you made me feel that if I did not then there would be severe consequences (such as being rejected by him) or that the opportunity would slip through my fingers! [Oh, how I feel your struggle Paul- Romans 7:15]

I cannot endure this abusive, power-controlling relationship any longer. Sorry, Fear, but what we had is over…but don’t worry…it’s not you, it’s me!

Then to make matters worse…you, Fear, passed me on to your twin friends, Guilt & Shame. I guess the slang cliché saying is true, “Ain’t no fun if the homies can’t have none!”

After I acted…because of something Fear made me do I then was left in the hands of you guys, Guilt & Shame. Would I dare show my face the next day @ work, church, or school? I’d dare not! I thought fear did a number on me…but you two…yea you two really put a beating on me!

You two left me battered and bruised! You two left me scared to even ask for help! You two left me hopeless and feeling very worthless…but am I really worth-less because of what I have done? Don’t answer that…because I know what you will say!

The two wicked brothers Guilt & Shame. Oh Guilt, your tactics were very effective at the time I must say. Condemnation…wow where did you find that one at? And to add insult to injury…you, Shame didn’t make it any better by throwing in your little 2 cents of disgrace & humiliation!

But…it’s ok now because as of today you two and I are over…but don’t worry…it’s not you, it’s me!

Wait! Sit down I am not finished! I wanted to introduce you guys to someone new; the ones that I have been cheating on you with! I found three new friends now so you all don’t have to worry about trying to come back! Meet Forgiveness and the twins Mercy & Grace!

You see, Fear, I had to replace you with Forgiveness because many things that you made me do, or didn’t allow me to do were all out of disobedience to my Lover Christ! You, Fear, basically made me call my Lover Christ a lie which is NEVER the case because He is “not a man, that He should lie nor a son of man, that He should repent” (Numbers 23:19). My Lover told me that ‘He has not given me the spirit of fear’ and He also told me ’not to be discouraged or afraid for He is with me wherever I go” (I Timothy 1:7 & Joshua 1:9) and you know what, I believe Him. So Fear…meet your replacement….Forgiveness!

Now you two…this is pretty neat huh, Guilt & Shame? I found two OTHER twins to replace you with! Guilt meet your replacement Mercy and Shame meet your replacement Grace.

Guilt, when you beat me over the head with all that I had done, guilty and sometimes not, Mercy came along and said, “Even if you are guilty…just accept me and move forward from here on out!” Guilt, you sought to destroy me and leave me high and dry, but my Lover ‘is a merciful God and He will not abandon or destroy me’ (Deuteronomy 4:31). Plus, Guilt you were getting a little old and worn out…but Mercy…oh Mercy is fresh & ready to roll every single morning (Lamentations 3:21-23).

And you Shame…SHAME on you! You caused me to be that ostrich with my head in the dirt for so long! So I am replacing you with Grace. I would always hear about Grace but now I know Grace for myself! Grace didn’t throw my mistakes in my face, no matter how many or how severe they were. Nope, Grace just simply held me and allowed me to cry on his shoulder as I accepted what I did not deserve. That is all I need now because ‘it is sufficient’ and it sustains me every step of the way (II Corinthians 12:9).

Fear, Guilt, & Shame…we are over…but don’t worry…it’s not you, it’s me! I have changed, not you! And you are correct when you stated that, “I am acting all brand new with you guys.” You are absolutely correct, I am brand new now! (Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation; old things have passed away; behold, all things have become new” – II Corinthians 5:17). And for the record, I am forgetting those things that are behind me (Philippians 3:13)…so let’s leave it there shall we!? Great, so glad we have that understanding now!

Come on Forgiveness, Mercy, & Grace…we have some unfinished business to handle and lost time to make up!

…………………………………………………….

∆ Phone God: Good morning Dad, thank you for your mercies that are fresh every morning. Thank you that you do not condemn us when we do wrong. Thank you for pulling me from my mess and guiding me to a place of true repentance. Free me from my fears, doubts, insecurities, & worries and help me to lean on your truthful and faithful word. I bring every thought and imagination to the obedience of you Lord. In Jesus name, Amen.

∆ Chew on this:

  • “Let us therefore come boldly to the throne of grace, that we may obtain mercy, and find grace to help in time of need.”  -Hebrews 4:16
  • Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation; old things have passed away; behold, all things have become new” – II Corinthians 5:17
  • “He has not given [me] the spirit of fear” – I Timothy 1:7

∆ Ponder on this:

  • Are you still in a relationship with Fear, Guilt, & Shame? Isn’t it about that time that you guys broke up too?
  • What is holding you back from letting go? What do they do for you that you feel God can’t?
  • There is “Someone” out there better for you trust me! I mean look at me…I found Forgiveness, Mercy, & Grace. And so can you!

∆ Act on this:

  • Explore the reasons for you reluctance to let go of fear, shame, & guilt and let God heal those areas in your life.
  • Every time you hear those whispers by fear, shame, & guilt ignore them and replace them with promises of God.
One thought on “It’s Not You…It’s Me

  1. Pingback: Fear Less & Achieve More | TEN^TWELVE

I would love to hear from you!

