Stop Dreaming and Start Doing: A few remedies to get you started

IMG_0063

Last night around 2:00 AM I started a ” I want to accomplish _______ by ______” list. At first I was just planning on writing a vision for myself but I was getting really motivated to write down all of my desired accomplishments! I ended up breaking this list down by subcategories (i.e. personal accomplishments, business accomplishments, educational accomplishments, speaker & author accomplishments).

I decided to write this list because I know that at times the spirit of “I will do it tomorrow” creeps up on me and I tend to delay things well beyond the date intended. Writing down what I want out of my life and giving myself deadlines is something that I have to do for myself to keep me on my toes. Yes, I did create deadlines and I feel you should do the same because your “today’s” will always turn into “tomorrow’s” if you do not; however, while creating this list and working towards the accomplishments it is vital that we seek God’s guidance as we write and pursue the vision and it is also important that we have a healthy balance between rigidity to assure we get it done but also flexibility to give God permission to alter and adjust where He sees fit. I like to write things down and then put “Tentative to Change at God’s Discretion”.

It is about time that we wake up and stop dreaming & wishing for things to happen but instead make things happen. I say that Little vision = Little success! Big vision = Big success! I’m not dreaming big I am envisioning big! [Now, when I say dreaming I do not mean what occurs while we sleep. I dream often because it is one way that God speaks to me. The “dreaming” that I am talking about here is when you are just sitting and thinking about the things happening but not putting legs to what you see.]

Write out your list of things you wish to accomplish in the near and distant future and give yourself deadlines to help eliminate procrastination. Of course be open to God’s leadings and alterations but at least have something written down.

……………………………………………………..

Below I have listed a few remedies to get you on your feet and moving:

Remedy for dreamers:

“Write the vision And make it plain on tablets, That he may run who reads it. For the vision is yet for an appointed time; But at the end it will speak, and it will not lie. Though it tarries, wait for it; Because it will surely come, it will not tarry.”- Habakkuk 2:2-3

Remedy for complacency & mediocrity:

“Where there is no vision, the people perish: but he that keepeth the law, happy is he.” – Proverbs 29: 18

Remedy for laziness:

“Go to the ant, you sluggard!Consider her ways and be wise…” – Proverbs 6:6

Remedy for “I don’t have anyone to help me or show me what to do”:

[the ant]which, having no captain, Overseer or ruler…” Proverbs 6:7

Remedy for lack of planning:

“[the ant] Provides her supplies in the summer, And gathers her food in the harvest…” – Proverbs 6:8

Remedy for procrastination:

“How long will you slumber, O sluggard? When will you rise from your sleep? A little sleep, a little slumber, A little folding of the hands to sleep—So shall your poverty come on you like a prowler, And your need like an armed man.” – Proverbs 6:9-11

Remedy for “I’m waiting on God to do it”: 

“For we are laborers together with God: ye are God’s husbandry, ye are God’s building.” – I Corinthians 3:9

……………………………………………

∆ Phone God: Dear Lord, I am ready to put down all of my excuses and get busy working doing what I am supposed to do. Help me to remain on task and accomplish what it is that you have set out for me to do. I wish to co-labor with you so please show me what I need to do to join with you to fulfill my assignments. I know you have been waiting on me so here I am now ready to rock and roll 🙂 In Jesus name, Amen.

∆ Chew on this:

  • “For which of you, intending to build a tower, does not sit down first and count the cost, whether he has enough to finish it— 29 lest, after he has laid the foundation, and is not able to finish, all who see it begin to mock him, 30 saying, ‘This man began to build and was not able to finish’?” – Luke 14:28-30

∆ Ponder on this:

  • So what is your excuse now?

∆ Act on this:

  • Write down the vision for your life.
  • Write down the business plan, the book proposal, the to-do list, the “accomplish ____ by ____” list
  • Get busy doing the first step that God told you to do!
  • Be ProACTIVE in your life! That means DO something and stop DREAMING it will happen!
  • Stop waiting for it to happen and make it happen.
2 thoughts on “Stop Dreaming and Start Doing: A few remedies to get you started

  1. Pingback: My 2012 Reflection: One Word Sums It All Up | TEN^TWELVE

  2. Pingback: Rise and Shine | TEN^TWELVE

I would love to hear from you!

