Grateful for the Good, the Bad, and the Ugly

IMG_1178

A typical question on this day is, “What are you thankful for?” Some of the responses I’ve heard are, “My family, friends, food, life, God, etc…” After sitting and thinking about this it dawned on me that I have never heard anyone say they are grateful for something hurtful or unwanted, that I can recall.

Unwanted and hurtful circumstances are not the usual, “whoo thank ya Lawdy” type of occasions, but I wonder why? We thank God for the new house, the new car, the new man/woman, the new job, the new pay raise, the new baby, the new scholarship, the new _____ (you fill in the blank) but we rarely thank God for the broken relationship, for the pink slip on the job, for the delay in traffic, for friends betraying us, for having to pray for a miracle just to get a meal on the table, etc…

Now of course NONE of those latter examples are desirable but are there not blessings in the painful experiences as well? Could these situations truly be God’s hand of mercy and grace preventing things from happening to you?

Let’s call up Job right now and see what he thinks about this…Job what is your response to this? “Though He slay me, yet will I trust Him.- Job 13:15”. Thank you Job, what about you Paul? “for I have learned to be content whatever the circumstances. 12 I know what it is to be in need, and I know what it is to have plenty. I have learned the secret of being content in any and every situation, whether well fed or hungry, whether living in plenty or in want. 13 I can do everything through him who gives me strength.14 Yet it was good of you to share in my troubles. – Philippians 4:11-14

Thank you gentlemen. So you see my friends, not only do we need to be thankful for the good but also for the seemingly bad and the ugly. In my lowest points is where I have found the most peace and in the most uncomfortable and undesirable places is where my faith grew and where God was able to mature me.

Since all things work together for my good then I will be at peace knowing that whatever happens, I am in God’s hands and I will be thankful simply for that!

Take a moment to listen to this song called “Blessings” by Laura Story

…………………………………………

 Phone God: Thank you God for this beautiful day that you have made. I thank you for being in my life. I thank you for loving on me endlessly. I am grateful for all you have done in my life but I am simply grateful that you are in my life! Help me to look at the bigger picture today and see my circumstances through an optimistic lens and not a pessimistic lens. Even though the bad and the ugly times have hurt I still thank you because I know that you know what you are doing and that much of this has been for my development and not my destruction. Thank you so much for being so awesome! In Jesus name, Amen.

∆ Chew on this:

  • “Give thanks to the LORD, for he is good; his love endures forever.” – I Chronicles 16:34
  • “And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose.” – Romans 8:28

 Ponder on this:

  • So what is it that constitutes a “blessed person”?
  • What are some hurtful and negative incidents that have occurred in your life that you have viewed as bad? Could these actually be blessings in disguise?

 Act on this:

  • Look at the bigger picture today rather than look at all of the small bad things that are happening.
  • Meditate on God’s word today and be thankful simply because He is God and that He has everything under control.
2 thoughts on “Grateful for the Good, the Bad, and the Ugly

  1. Pingback: Grateful for the Good, the Bad, and the Ugly « Trillion Small

  2. Pingback: My 2012 Reflection: One Word Sums It All Up | TEN^TWELVE

I would love to hear from you!

