Love Suffers Long

IMG_0260

We cry out, “Lord I want to be like you”, “Give me your heart”, “Break my heart with what breaks Yours”

But do we really know what we are asking for?

We are able to quote what love is “kind, not proud, never fails, etc…”

But I think we skip over the first one intentionally… “Love is longsuffering (other translations say ‘suffers long’ or ‘patient’)”

This very aspect of Love has been my test for some time now.

I have endured unreciprocated love from numerous people and I have had to love people until they finally learned what love truly was.

I didn’t desire this “long suffering” stuff but in it, God has revealed to me how He feels at times.

How He can pursue us endlessly yet get no response…long suffering

How He knows what’s best yet we still ignore him…long suffering

How He loves us when we are unfaithful…long suffering

The list can go on and on…but that’s LOVE!

Love doesn’t just love when there is a reward…love loves even when there is a high probability of low return.

It was once prophesied to me that ‘I was able to feel with His heart and see with His eyes and that made me a unique person’.

What a joy it was hearing that @ the moment and now I am coming to a realization of what exactly all that entails.

Sometimes our love will be responded with rejection, rebellion, neglect, fear, and even betrayal

…but in the midst of that all…we are still called to love!

Nobody said it would be easy…but Somebody did say it would be worth it!

…Love Somebody Today Without Reason…

…………………………………………….

 Phone God: Dear Lord, help me to love and treat people the way that you do. I know that it is your desire that we be molded into the likeness of you so I praise you in the process as you shape and make me to be more like you. When I am faced with tough situations and people I ask for the strength to love them unconditionally. Teach me how to be more like you Dad. In Jesus name, Amen.

∆ Chew on this:

  • “Whoever does not love does not know God, because God is love.” – I John 4:8
  • “If I speak in the tongues of men or of angels, but do not have love, I am only a resounding gong or a clanging cymbal. If I have the gift of prophecy and can fathom all mysteries and all knowledge, and if I have a faith that can move mountains, but do not have love, I am nothing. If I give all I possess to the poor and give over my body to hardship that I may boast, but do not have love, I gain nothing.” – I Corinthians 13:1-3
  • Love suffers long and is kind; love does not envy; love does not parade itself, is not puffed up; does not behave rudely, does not seek its own, is not provoked, thinks no evil; does not rejoice in iniquity, but rejoices in the truth; bears all things, believes all things, hopes all things, endures all things. Love never fails. But whether there are prophecies, they will fail; whether there are tongues, they will cease; whether there is knowledge, it will vanish away.” – I Corinthians 13:4-8

 Ponder on this:

  • What aspects of love can you use some improvement in? (See I Corinthians 13:4-8 for a description of what love is)?
  • Think about all of the times God loved you unconditionally even when your actions and attitudes probably should not have rendered it. [Isn’t that same love and grace He showed to you the same love and grace you should offer to others?]

 Act on this:

  • Simply love on someone today. Tell them you love them, give them a hug, be patient with them, pray with them, do a kind thing for them, speak well over their life, give them a word of encouragement, etc…
  • Do something that you originally would not do for a stranger (buy them coffee, give them a compliment, help them with their groceries…)
  • Ask God to reveal to you the areas in your “love” life that He would like to tweak a bit.
I would love to hear from you!

